Hearty breakfast/brunch meal to boost your immune system.

After being ill for a for a few days, your body just feels drained, doesn’t it? Even after the flu is gone, you’re still not quite there yet. For moments like these, I have my immune boosting hearty breakfast tip ❤

When you get sick, your body does everything in its power to help you get better but that can be exhausting. So it’s no surprise that even when you’re technically not ill anymore, you still feel tired and and drained. And it’s those times that it’s particularly important for you to help your body recover. One way to do that, is food.

My go-to meal is what I call my heart post-flu breakfast or brunch ❤ And as if the taste isn’t good enough, it is so easy and quick to make. I cannot be bothered to create something that takes half of an eternity until its edible. For me it’s gotta be simple, quick & tasty!

Ingredients:
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 spicy chorizo
  • 2 frozen spinach cubes
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 bread roll (or wholemeal toast)
  • 1 tsp crushed garlic
  • 2 tbsp cream cheese
  • hummus as much as you’d like
  • tasty cheese to sprinkle on top as much as you’d like

Honestly though, those ingredients are just a guideline. Next time I might throw in some onions and capsicums and leave to bread out because why not? It’s just supposed to give you a rough idea. I was never good with following orders to a T in the kitchen. To me, cooking is more like an art process where you just try new things. As I said, recipes I view more as guidelines 🙂

Anyway, next step

I mix the eggs with some herbs in a bowl, whisk and put the to the side. Then I put the frozen spinach in a pan with some olive oil and a few minutes later, I’ll add the chorizo. Why spicy you ask? Firstly because I like it and secondly, spicy food is good for the body. It makes you sweat and cools body temperature and it has an antibacterial effect. Don’t overdo it though, you should still be able to enjoy what you eat!

eggs, hearty food, scrambled eggs, ingredients

 

Toast the bread while you cut the tomatoes and put it all on a plate with scoops of hummus. Honestly, you cannot have enough hummus.

Next I would throw the eggs in the pan with your spinach and chorizo. You can keep it seperate, whatever you prefer. Don’t forget to add the cream cheese to the eggs, it gives it a soft texture and lovely taste ❤

The final step is to throw it all together on one plate. If you’re anything like my weird sister though, and you have to keep your food on separate plates, then obviously don’t do what I do. But whatever method you go for, you end up eating vitamins, proteins and other good stuff that (in my humble opinion) tastes pretty darn good 🙂 And it also fills you up like crazy, promise!

For a little extra boost, try a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice.

What is your go-to meal to re-energize your body?

Much love ❤

 

2 thoughts on “Hearty breakfast/brunch meal to boost your immune system.

Leave a comment